Yoga Sutras


Today when i woke up in the morning, the first thought i had was; that i should share the ultimate knowledge of yoga sutras with everyone Online. As i have been giving yoga teacher trainings for last couple of years and having to teach Sutras in the classes, gave me idea to share them on the blog, where everyone can read and get to know yoga bit more closely.

As some of you know, that there are 4 books or to say 4 chapters of Patanjali Yoga Sutras known as

  1. Samadhi Pada.
  2. Sadhana Pada.
  3. Vibhuti Pad.
  4. Kaivalya Pada.

Each of the chapter is dedicated to certain aspect and practice of yoga. First Chapter “Samadhi Pada” contains the details or definitions of purpose of yoga. Different approaches and steps to achieve the purpose of yoga have been explained.

Second Chapter “Sadhana Pada” As the word Sadhana (constant Practice) explains the practical importance of yoga. Where we learn to practice yoga in such a way where one puts yoga practice before all to benefit from it on ethical levels, Spiritual levels, practical level and so on. Eight limbs of yoga are part of this Chapter. Which are known to be the key of yoga for each yoga practitioner.

Third Chapter “Vibhuti Pada” having the knowledge and guidelines of some of those powers, a yogi can achieve from the practice of yoga. But more important, how to be able to control those powers.

Fourth Chapter “Kaivalya Pada” Focuses on mind and mental perception, desires and getting rid of circle of confusions that our mind creates.

At some point all four chapters are connected to each other, as all four of them are part of one practice.

In my next blogs i am going to elaborate each sutras of Patanjali Yoga Sutras in my own words, understanding and the yoga practice of my own.

Each blog will focus entirely on one sutra only. So the Sutra is pointed out from each directions. I wont only write the meaning of Sutras but to explain how it works and effects our life. And if sutra is understood wrong then which direction it takes. So we make sure we understand every side of it and know what to receive from that knowledge and what not to.

So stay tuned with my blog, Facebook page and twitter.

Om Shanti.